The Strongest Heart

I’ve always known

You are strong,

Independent,

A woman of will.

I’ve always seen

The pure, raw power

Of your heart.

But until I watched you weather

All life’s recent assaults,

The slings and arrows

You have endured,

I had never known

Just how incredibly strong

A woman you are!

A woman invincible

Though fragile

A woman whose heart,

Though breakable,

Is resilient

Rising like the phoenix

From every flame that touches it.

You were stronger than the fear

For your little girl’s heart.

You are infinitely stronger

Than the one who has treated you

With the bitter cold

Of a thousand winters.

I stand in awe

And I stand in love

Of a woman whose heart

Is so much stronger

Than I could ever have imagined.

Than I could ever be.

Leave a Reply

