I’m Free

The cold, black clouds

I thought would never leave

Have finally gone

And set me free

 

No longer does my heart

Wallow in pain

No more tragic darkness

Where it so long had lain

 

Time held me prisoner

In a cell of tragedy

‘Til one day there was you

And you set me free

 

Now it is winter

But despite all the snows

Thanks to my love

My heart’s no longer froze

 

You are the angel

That’s set my heart free

And though it sounds simple,

I love you, Aimee

 

-November 1996

Leave a Reply

