Poetry Challenge Week 7- First Love

This is my entry for week 7 of Clown Ponders Poetry Challenge.  The topic this week is “First Love”, so I’ve taken a poem I wrote in 1991 about my first love and given it a bit of a rewrite.

 

First Love

The memories flood beneath my skin

Thinking back on where we’ve been

Such innocence was in the play

As we laughed away the day

By the sweet and drifting stream

I was not yet too old to see

That bright and sparkling jewel

Reflected in the pool

In that peaceful, magic place

Where I saw your lovely face

Everything it seemed

Was written in a dream

All those pastel summer days

Passed in a youthful haze

No matter how far in the past

Those memories will forever last

3 thoughts on “Poetry Challenge Week 7- First Love

Leave a Reply

