Child of the System

Stu McPherson’s prompt over at dVerse today is The Art of Rebellion.  So I dug up this nugget from way back in 1994 when my friends and I formed a rebellious little punk rock garage band. I wrote a lot of sneering, middle-finger-waving, punk song lyrics for the band back then, even though we never actually got around to putting music to them… Oh, well- Viva La Revolucion! LOL

Child of the system

You’re a child of the system

You’ll never be the same

No you’ll never know your name

You’re gonna do just what they want you to

You’re gonna do just what they want you to

 

Don’t look at me. Ha!

I told you so

They got you in the ruts

You’re just one among a million

Society takes away your guts

 

You’re part of it all

Look at yourself

They got you by the balls

Made you another self-righteous clone

Society keeps you in its walls

 

Child of the system

You’re a child of the system

You’ll never live again

Your whole life’s in vain

You did just what they wanted you to

You did just what they wanted you to

 

They said you need a degree

So you got one

Spend the next ten years in debt

Get the job you’re channeled into

You know you’ll be on the PTA yet

 

You’re setting up for

The American Dream

Whose dream is this anyway?

You’re now one among a million

Another zombie throwing your life away

 

Child of the system

You’re a child of the system

Your life is not what it seems

An American nightmare, not a dream

But you did just what they wanted you to

But you did just what they wanted you to

I made a lot of posters, t-shirts, etc with various versions of the “Child of the System” figure on them back in my spiky haired youth 😉

12 thoughts on “Child of the System

  1. You’re a child of the system

    Your life is not what it seems

    An American nightmare, not a dream

    ha…these are a riot man…love it…was in a garage band growing up as well…and wrote really angsty rebllious songs…could def hear this being rocked out…

  2. love it…snotty! and full of youthful rebellion…..but this is what its all about!…this is where we develop free thought is it not? and thought and schemas that we often take with us into our adult life? id like to think im still writing snot punk songs…albeit in the form of cryptic non-nonsensical poems! ha ha…this was such a great insight and made me feel nostalgic!

    • Thanks, Stu. I may not wear the safety pins and hair gel much anymore, but I still consider myself a punk for life…And I do still dye my hair red or orange occasionally so no one forgets it! LOL

    • I was certainly listening to a lot of NIN back then. I’ve always thought this one had a bit of a Sex Pistols and The Clash feel to it. I can imagine Johnny Rotten or Joe Strummer sneering their way through it, LOL.

  3. It’s a memorial to a past and rage that we wonder at in our memories. I missed the punk revolution being a child of the early and not late 70s so had left the city and jobs for hippy communes, free love and root music. I was unemployed but the state paid for freedom that no longer exists as welfare becomes poor law relief.

Leave a Reply

