St. Andrew’s Day- My Scotland

I feel the pull

A tug on my heart

Something stirs

Something ancient

Voices in my blood

 

When I hear the pipes

My ancestors call

When I see pictures

Of lochs and hills

Whether I’m watching “Monarch of the Glen”

Or an SPL match

My blood remembers

And I feel the longing

 

The swell of pride

At the blue and white

Of St. Andrew’s cross

Or the red and gold

Of the lion rampant

I hear those who came before

Settlers in a New World

Singing songs of a home I’ve never known

In a lilting brogue

 

One day

I hope to answer that call

To stand

In a land my blood remembers

Scotland

My Scotland

 

Happy St. Andrew’s Day (Scottish St. Patrick’s Day for those unfamiliar with it) to all my fellow Scots!!  Schlante! 🙂

2 thoughts on “St. Andrew’s Day- My Scotland

Leave a Reply

