Growing Up

At ten years old
I didn’t know
How to drive a car
Or balance a checkbook
Or that love isn’t always forever

At twenty years old
I didn’t know
How to balance a job
With going to college
Or what I wanted to do with my life

At thirty years old
I didn’t know
How to look beyond myself
Or that I was letting
My marriage slowly slip away

At forty years old
All that I know
Is that growing up
Like growing older
Is a process that never ends

 

For Stuart McPherson’s “Growing Up” prompt on dVerse.

22 thoughts on “Growing Up

  1. it surely is a process…and we never stop learning…we make mistakes and fall and then we get up again…and again…and again..and i think it’s a good thing..i don’t like when things get static you know…smiles

  2. David, this is so good. You nailed it…growing up never ends…we keep learning until the day we leave. This had me smiling and nodding as I was reading it!

    • Probably 30, because younger ones think they know all they need to know, and by 40 they’ve probably figured out they still have a lot to learn. 🙂

  3. Agreed. Growing up is a never ending process. We are imperfect beings who are always learning how to better ourselves.

Leave a Reply

