Do you understand?

Putasne intelligis?
Do you understand?
All these words
Een mengsel, a mixture, of sounds and syllables
Nouns, verbs, adjectives
Frénétique liberté phonétique
Frenetic phonetic freedom
Every word, every sentence
Whether I speak of love
A spark inside my heart
Or of beauty’s inspiration
Füttrung meiner seele
Feeding my soul
Or the echoes of time and memory
Ghostly shades of the past
And the emotions they reverberate
All of these words
Tutte queste parole
Everything spoken
Everything written
Each breath that makes a sound
Em qualquer língua, på nogen læber
In any tongue, on any lips
Every thought and feeling expressed
Carries inside
The eternal Human question
La qüestió Humana eterna
Buried in its rhythm
Between the lines and beneath the voice
In eloquence or awkwardness
All words ask
Καταλαβαίνεις?
¿Lo entiendes?
Ne comprenez-vous?
Putasne intelligis?
Do you
Understand?

For the dVerse prompt on using other languages in our poems.  I love languages so this was right up my alley!  The other languages used in this in the order they appear is: Latin, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Danish, Catalan, Greek, Spanish, French, and Latin…No, I don’t speak all these languages. Some of the words I knew, some I have to give Google Translate the credit for.  🙂

28 thoughts on “Do you understand?

  1. that is way cool…love how many languages you included.. feeding the soul..the question each of our words carries inside….we all want to be understood…want to be heard.. really well penned

  2. This is beautiful! You did verrry good and I want to understand all of them. The poem itself is with feeling, heartfelt and I must see if I can tell which langauges are which. Good!

    • Lol, I would’ve liked to have put in even more, but I think it would have disrupted the flow a bit. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  3. All the languages in the world but always the same questions, the same needs: the intimate desire of the human being soul of being understood. Thanks, David, to point this out so well…

    A presto,
    Sentimental

Leave a Reply

