My Treasure

We had a brand new swing set
Jungle gym
All white, red and blue
Metal pipes and bars
Ladders and swing chains
Assembled by my uncle
On a hot summer afternoon
Post holes dug deep
To keep it secure
My brothers and I
Excited
So eager to climb and play

The hard work done
Adults and children gathered indoors
Chatting around the kitchen table
As afternoon light
Faded to grey dusk
Except for
Me
Still too eager
I knelt in the dirt
Hands black with soil
Filling the holes
Around the cold steel posts
Like planting a metal tree
Packing handfuls of earth and stones

Until

It was just a stone
Caked with dirt
How long it had lain beneath the grass
I could never know
But this was no stone
No ordinary stone
Wiping away dirt
My heart leaped into my throat
Perhaps I even shouted
I don’t remember

A treasure!
An artifact
A small spearhead of flint
Formed by native hands
Long, long before
Any European set foot on this land

Like a blur I remember
Racing inside
Feet barely touching the ground
A smile on my face like no other
Proudly showing my treasure
To my astonished family

The swing set
Is long gone
Time rusted and crumbled
Decades past
But the ancient indian spearhead
That lay waiting so long
In the cold damp earth
Now polished and shining
Is still my treasure

NaPoWriMo 2013 post #6…True story!  I was about 8 or 9 I think when I found it…Linking this to dVerse for their “anecdote” prompt as well.

15 thoughts on “My Treasure

  1. very cool…treasures found…my boys like going in search of treasure, and its pretty amazing what they find and deem treasure…a spear or arrow head would surely be a treasure…there is an implied link to our shared history as well, which makes it more important than manufactured fun…

    • Exactly. I was also thinking of the irony in how something handmade by a less advanced (and supposedly less civilized) culture managed to last for hundreds of years buried two feet under the ground, while something manufactured by our more advanced (and supposedly more civilized) time didn’t last 10 years….Makes you wonder if we have anything today that could last that long.

  2. …very wonderful to read… i think what makes & gives me unconditional happiness is what i can consider as my treasure… and yours just shows it… smiles… this was indeed an enjoyable read… thanks for sharing it with us…

  3. …very wonderful to read… i think what makes & gives me unconditional happiness is what i can consider as my treasure… and yours just shows it… smiles… this was indeed an enjoyable read. thanks for sharing it with us.

  4. Fine poem, and a great story! Lucky you! I found a tiny Chinese coin on the (dirt) road in front of our house a couple of years ago. It was after a very intense rain storm scoured away the surface and laid bare the original ground. There was a short lived gold rush here in the 1860’s – I guess that’s how it got here.

Leave a Reply

