To Kurt

19 years ago
Of all places
In a music store, I stood
My weekly ritual
Browsing cds and cassettes
When a man walked in
Approached the store owner at the counter
“Did you hear about Kurt Cobain?
Did you hear
He’s dead?”

Those words
Hurt
Like a kick in the balls
An icy chill
Spreading across my chest

“Yeah.  It’s a shame.  Such a waste.”
The owner responded
As I left
No longer in any mood
To browse cds

That night
In the shadow of my hero’s image
Posters like blood
Hanging on my bedroom walls
My brothers and I
Listening to that scratchy growl
The voice that spoke to us
Raising our beers
(Though only I was of age)
Offering the toast
We would offer again and again
In years to come

“To Kurt”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=76N_8A816KQ

NaPoWriMo 2013 post #9 and dVerse Open Link Night #91

 

4 thoughts on “To Kurt

  1. i feel you in this…that was one of those moments…sadly we have far too many from the music world….that becomes a hook in our memory…i read his notebooks they published after as well…very intriguing reading if you havent…

Leave a Reply

