Status Update

The world is streaming live
Racing in every direction
Life lived at internet speeds
Don’t blink or you might miss something

Romanesque
A billion emperors fiddling
Watching the world burn
Or melt
A quivering, bubbling mass of plastic parts
Handheld and mobile
Picked up and re-molded
Into something vaguely obscene
Held up in public privacy
In exhibitionistic delirium
For all the fellow voyeurs
Tweeting like angry birds
Begging for attention
Blaring the silly and the mundane

Humorous photos and boring updates
What’s on TV, what was for dinner, checking in from Walmart
Shouted statuses
Flit in and out
Faster than a passing fad
Straining to make the irrelevant
Seem important
“One man’s trash…”, so they say
And Warhol’s fifteen minutes becomes a birthright
Stretched
To ridiculous extremes

NaPoWriMo post #17 (yeah, I’m behind a bit) and dVerse Open Link Night #93…Sometimes when I’m on Facebook or Twitter, I just have to stop and reflect on how completely inane “social media” really is…And then I go back to clicking like, share and comment anyway, lol. 😉

12 thoughts on “Status Update

    • Thank you, Claudia!…I think if Warhol were alive today he would have something interesting to say about social media, lol.

  1. ha. i like the warhol ref…social media…ugh…its rather a bane….interesting though that in the recent boston bombing you could get intel there faster than on the news…and did you hear of the hack to CNNs twitter recently…ugh…

  2. It is strange the mundane details people make public. I try and limit the mundane conversations to loved ones ears, as I know they care enough to listen, but even then I try not to bore them too much!

  3. This is a powerful indictment of the modern, sad, age. You capture the Superficiality in a nutshell and take off in a rant that equals the absence, that silence that terrifies so many. The way you sustain the voice of clarity is powerful.

  4. Definitely too much for me to tolerate…volume goes up, stupid conversations, not a lot of socially redeeming quality…as if we are being brainwashed/distracted from the real issues…even discouraged to think/share ideas. I like “Romanesque”. Well said.

    • Thank you very much. It all does seem rather like a form of Roman self-indulgent decadence. I think the Romans would have loved Facebook, lol. 🙂

  5. I’m a “senior citizen” and it’s hard to believe the communication/tech changes that have happened in my life time. And it’s easy to see both the positives and negatives that these advances have wrought. Nicely expressed.

  6. Well said! Sounds like you need a walk in the woods or some such to restore your sanity. Living in a small rural community, I can ignore a lot of the noise of social media, but I’m still aware of it. Bah Humbug!

    • Thank you. Luckily, I live in a small rural community too, so I can unplug for a while pretty easily. In fact, this is the first I’ve been online in three days. 🙂

  7. lol I love the walmart line, and I agree social media is fun, but some people take it way too seriously. *This comment was written from a planet, orbiting a star, in the milky way galaxy, on a continent in the Alantic, from a house, in the living room, on the couch* 😛

Leave a Reply

